Bake for the Quake

So as you may have guessed my friends Anna, Lauren and Molly and I decided to have a bake sale for Haiti Relief. We were able to raise $675 plus someone donated $100 so a total of $775 went to the Red Cross – yayayaya! A lot of people on campus have been doing various activities to raise money for Haiti and it’s so nice to see people get involved to help people get through this horrible tragedy. We were interviewed by The Cap Times and The Daily Cardinal (Madison’s newspaper and the campus paper) about why we wanted to do a bake sale to raise money which was sooo exciting – especially since I am a Journalism major and it’s usually me asking the questions not the other way around.

So many generous places on campus donated yummy treats that we sold.

Einstein’s donated bagels

Fresh City Market (the new grocery story – which is one of the most exciting thing to ever open on campus because it is the ONLY grocery story on campus) donated three dozen beautiful cupcakes.

And Starbucks donated 10 gallons of coffee!! (the green containers)…. u know how I feel about Starbucks it’s my drug of choice…

Molly made these amazing rice krispie treats – how cute are the smileys and peace signs

I made Ice Box Smores bars and Buckeye Bars – both recipe’s from my sissy’s blog Cookteen – although there was some debate about the Buckeye Bars. The recipe didn’t include water but when I made them it didn’t seem spreadable or fill the pan so I decided to add it in – but then I realized it was because I also used the wrong size pan – you are supposed to use 9×9 and I used 13×9…whoops they were still delicious though – more brownie like then Buckeye Bars -which is OK by me heh.

What is your favorite baked good to make for bake sales?

1 Comment

Filed under 1

One response to “Bake for the Quake

  1. Mommy

    I am so proud of you girls!!

Leave a Reply

